Missouri Medical Cannabis Program

Quick Guide

If you’re considering medical cannabis as an alternative or augmentation to your current medical regimen, it’s easy to register and obtain a Missouri Medical Card. This card, valid for one year, will allow you to purchase medical marijuana at any Missouri licensed dispensary and may also allow you special dispensation to grow cannabis plants for your own usage. This quick guide will help you navigate the process. 

What is Amendment 2 and who can obtain a Missouri Medical Card?

In November of 2018, Missouri passed Amendment 2, legalizing the medical use of cannabis. This allows qualified patients to grow up to six cannabis plants (if they desire),  and purchase up to 4 ounces of cannabis per month. 

Individuals who wish to purchase or grow medical cannabis must possess a qualifying condition as outlined by the law. The language specifies some qualifying conditions, but also allows cannabis to be recommended for any “chronic, debilitating or other medical condition” as determined by a physician as well as any terminal illness.

In order to grow or purchase medical cannabis, patients must be a resident in the state of Missouri, possess a qualifying condition, and register with the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services in order to obtain a Missouri Medical Card.

What health conditions are eligible for a Missouri Medical Card?

Individuals with any of the following medical conditions are considered qualified to receive a Missouri Medical card. If you’re uncertain about whether a particular condition applies to you, or would like to be considered for medical cannabis usage due to an unlisted condition, the best course of action is to consult with a physician.
  • Cancer
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Intractable Migraines (migraines which have been unresponsive to other treatments)
  • Any chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome.
  • Debilitating psychiatric disorders including but not limited to post-traumatic stress disorder, if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist
  • Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • Any chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
  • Any terminal illness
  • Any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome as determined by a physician.

How do I obtain a card, either for myself or a dependent?

1.

Locate a physician using the directory of Missouri physicians below, or schedule an appointment with your regular physician. 

 

2.

Consult with your physician to ensure that medical marijuana is right for you.

Ask your physician to complete the Physician Certification Form and submit it within 30 days from your appointment. (The form must be submitted within 30 days to be valid

4.

Complete your application by including the following:

•  A clear, color photograph of the patient’s face, taken within the prior three  months. 

•  Proof of Missouri residency, such as a copy of a valid Missouri driver’s license, a Missouri issued ID card, a current Missouri motor vehicle registration, or a recent Missouri utility bill. 

•  A legible copy of the qualifying patient’s photo ID issued by a state or federal government entity.

•  A completed Patient Authorization Form for a Caregiver (if needed) or Parent/Legal Guardian Consent Form for a non-emancipated qualifying patient (if needed). •  The associated application fees (detailed below).

5.

Indicate if the patient is seeking authority to cultivate medical marijuana.

6.

Submit Patient Application with all required items, including your application fees (detailed below). 

Please note that Missouri will only accept online MMMP patient registry via the MO DHSS webpage. Walk-in or mailed applications, documents, and payments will not be accepted and will be returned to the applicant by certified mail.

Missouri
Physician Directory

Book a service with

MIdwest Cannabinoid Clinic logo

How do I access my ID card?

You can access your patient or caregiver ID card from your account in the MMMP patient registry. Make sure to save a copy of your patient ID card to your device, and print a copy for your records. You are now ready to make a purchase from SWADE or another Missouri licensed dispensary. Your card is valid for one year.

Making a Purchase

Be sure to bring a printed or digital copy of your DHSS-issued ID card and a photo ID with you to the dispensary so you can present them to the staff. Patients or caregivers may purchase medical marijuana from SWADE (a Missouri licensed dispensary) totaling up to the monthly purchase limit amount.

ATM located in store.

Uncertain about the monthly purchase limit? Use the Missouri Marijuana Equivalency Units (MMEs) to easily check your purchase of dried marijuana, concentrate, or THC infused products.

Missouri marijuana equivalency units chart

We have to ask

Are you 21 years of age or older?